Sunday, August 11, 2013

SOUNDTRACK: CBGB, due out in October

Almost as if we planned it to send JD's "year of Nuggets" out with a bang, comes the release of CBGB the motion picture, and CBGB the soundtrack. Combining punk precursors like The Velvet Underground, The Stooges and MC5 with bands that were part of the CBGB scene, Omnivore Recordings will release CBGB: Original Motion Soundtrack on October 8 with deluxe digital version coming the same day from Rhino.

Hilly Kristal dreamed of running a country and blues bar in the Bowery. Instead, the club he opened, CBGB (Country, Bluegrass, Blues) became the birthplace of punk and underground music. CBGB was the modern-day salon for the disenfranchised youth of New York City and Kristal offered these young local bands a stage.

The album contains a performance by Kristal (“Birds and the Bees”) and a new version of “Sunday Girl” by Blondie.

Track Listing:
1. Life During Wartime – Talking Heads
2. Kick Out the Jams (Uncensored Version) – MC5
3. Chatterbox – New York Dolls
4. Careful – Television
5. Blank Generation – Richard Hell & The Voidoids
6. Slow Death – Flamin’ Groovies
7. I Can’t Stand It – The Velvet Underground
8. Out of Control – Wayne County & The Electric Chairs
9. Psychotic Reaction – The Count Five
10. All For the Love of Rock ’n’ Roll (Live) – Tuff Darts
11. All By Myself – Johnny Thunders & The Heartbreakers
12. California Sun (Original Demo) – The Dictators
13. Caught With the Meat in Your Mouth – Dead Boys
14. I Got Knocked Down (But I’ll Get Up) – Joey Ramone
15. Get Outta My Way – The Laughing Dogs
16. Sunday Girl (2013 Version) – Blondie
17. I Wanna Be Your Dog – The Stooges
18. Sonic Reducer – Dead Boys
19. Roxanne – The Police
20. Birds and the Bees – Hilly Kristal

You probably know most of these tracks, but some are a little bit "deeper" in the canon than others, which is cool. And it will be nice to have a lot of this stuff together. Here's a live performance of "Careful" by Television:

Look for more news, perhaps a track or two, and for now you can pre-order at the Omnivore Recordings website.

Omnivore Recordings website

No comments: