Wednesday, March 27, 2024

Ryann Gonsalves - Ouch


We applaud anyone that releases a self-reflective album titled Ouch! on Valentine's Day. I guess we are just wounded romantics. But Ryann Gonsalves' debut LP deserves applause for more than its title and release date. The focus is inward on the composer, but it reflects a strong sense of self and is infused with humor and whimsey. An able musician as well as a vocalist and songwriter, the songs are pleasing and, while concise, well-formed. There are plenty of rewards for the listeners in Ouch!; it is one of those albums that just makes us happy to play. We already counted ourselves as fans of other projects in which Ryann participates. Now we can look forward to more of her solo work as well.

Ouch! is out now in digital and cassette formats via Oakland's Dandy Boy Records. Ryann also is the frontperson for Torrey and plays in Aluminum and Reality TV.


Bandcamp for "Ouch!"

Various relevant link

Tuesday, March 26, 2024

Hanemoon - Rain or Shine


How about some sweet, sincere jangle pop to gladden the heart? Rain or Shine comes from Berlin by way of Portland, Oregon, courtesy of Hanemoon. The melodies are varied but invariably delightful and the arrangements are dynamic and agile. As the title says -- rain or shine -- these are tunes for all weather any any mood.

Hanemoon is Hans Forster, who also is a member of Seaside Stars and Man Behind Tree. Rain or Shine is out now via Jigsaw Records which also has the previous Hanemoon albums. A very important note for buyers is that you should use the links below. A scammer has created a fake Jigsaw site with the 'dot shop' suffix, and you will lose your money if you try to buy there.



Bandcamp for Rain or Shine

Jigsaw Records page for album

Bandcamp for previous releases

Thursday, March 21, 2024

Dancer - 10 Songs I Hate About You


We don't know the members of Glasgow's Dancer personally, but we suspect that they may be as fond of caffeine as the WYMA staff. The songs on their new album for Meritorio Records, 10 Songs I Hate About You, are bursting with energy, purpose and a rare level of inventiveness. All of that, the ace musicianship and the distinctive vocals of Gemma Fleet make this album one of the most distinctive and treasured of the year so far.  

I don't know why they call themselves Dancer, but our imagination tells us that their music dances across our brains led Fred and Ginger. The album a warm heart and a good dose of wit. It unspools like a live show with Gemma announcing the title of each song and guitarist Chris Taylor and bassist Andrew Doig seeming to freestyle to great effect while drummer Gavin Murdoch keeps it all grounded.

10 Songs I Hate About You is out now via Meritorio Records.



Bandcamp for album

Monday, March 18, 2024

Torrey - Torrey


2024 is proving to be a year that will make our ears very, very happy. And one of the standout albums to date is the self-title LP by the Bay Area's Torrey. Crafting a multi-layered dreampop suffused with textures spanning the range from airy and gauzey to melodic, shoegazey bombs, Torrey gives the listener new aspects to examine with each listen. The level of detail and the variety of elements is incredible, but the band masterfully blends it all to deliver music with just the right balance between polish and indie scruff.

Torrey are Ryann Gonsalves, Kelly Gonsalves, Sinclair Riley, Adam Honingford, and Susie Chinisci. Torrey is out now in vinyl, digital and CD formats via Slumberland Records.

No Matter How

"Acid Island 45" by Kindsight


We took a break to assist a family member who had surgery last week, but she is on the road to recovery and we are back at the keyboard. And we celebrate our return with the rush of excitement embodied in "Acid Island 45", the new single by Danish band Kindsight. The introductory guitar squall, break-an-arm drumming and full-out pace made us think that in another world this would be on a greatest hits compilation from the Shop Assistants. And that is intended to be high praise. The song is taken from the upcoming No Fame No Shame, which will be out April 19 via Rama Lama Records

Kindsight are Nina Hyldgaard Rasmussen (vocals/guitar), Soren Svensson (guitar), Anders Prip (bass), and Johannes Jacobsen (drums). .




Bandcamp for single

Various links for "Acid Island 45"

Bandcamp for album pre-orders

Label page for album

Wednesday, March 6, 2024

"We're Going To Make It In A Man's World" by Camera Obscura


A month ago we debuted "Big Love", the first single from the upcoming LP Look To The East, Look To The West by Glasgow's beloved Camera Obscura. Today, we have the bright, lush and upbeat second single "We're Going To Make It In A Man's Word". The song was co-written by vocalist Tracyanne Campbell and keyboardist Donna Maciocia, and reaffirms that this band has lost none of its ability to nail the perfect pop song.

The album will be out May 3 via Merge Records.



X (Twitter)


Various links for Look To The East, Look To The West

Merge Records page for album

Flowertown -Tourist Language


Tourist Language is a special one -- an intimate, romantic Leap Year treat from Flowertown. The duo consisting of Michael Ramos (Tony Jay) and Karina Gill (Cindy) creates aural tapestries emphasizing atmosphere, tone, and their remarkably captivating and conversational vocals. This album doesn't rock you with volume or dazzle you with pyrotechnics (although we absolutely love the tones of the guitars that seem to live inside our chests). No, it hits deeper. Like a treasured conversation with your past lover, or maybe your next lover. We wouldn't want to live without this one.

Tourist Language was released on February 29 in vinyl and digital formats by San Francisco label Paisley Shirt Records.

Friday, March 1, 2024

Cool Sounds - BUG0BEAT


In our opinion, Melbourne's Cool Sounds has their own sub-genre. We call it Discoglamjangle (no, no one has ever hired us to create advertising campaigns). The components are a sturdy, danceable beat, a glammy '70s soft rock sound and dose of jangle, and they never fail to wield it in a way that brings a high level of aural satisfaction. Cool Sounds has made their 2024 appearance with a six-track EP titled BUG0BEAT. The song is the lead and title track of their upcoming EP, which is due March 1 via Chapter Music. Press play and enjoy the Discoglamjangle. We have embedded the entire EP below because, well, it makes us so happy that we firmly believe that everyone needs BUG0BEAT.

The main man of Cool Sounds is Dainis Lacey, who is joined by Dylan Young for the creation of the BUG0BEAT EP. The EP is out now via Chapter Music.


Bandcamp for BUG0BEAT

Other relevant links

"Is This Love?" by Red Sleeping Beauty plus new EP


Bright and hopefully and romantic - "Is This Love?" by Sweden's Red Sleeping Beauty is just the song we needed for cold and rainy afternoon. Jaunty keys and jangling guitars in a concise musical cup of yearning emotion. the song is the third in the band's 2024 project of a song a month. And this month brings an additional treat as the first three songs have been offered as the three-song Is This Love? EP by Matinee Recordings.

Is This Love? EP:



Bandcamp for single

Bandcamp for the 2024 album

Matinee Recordings page for the Is This Love? EP

"Bluetooth Hell" by Dancer


Our nosey neighbor has not asked about the joyous sounds from our abode this morning (does she not even care anymore?), but then perhaps we couldn't hear her knocking over the repeated plays of "Bluetooth Hell", the new single from Dancer. The single is from the Glasgow band's upcoming album 10 Songs I Hate About You (a strong contender for alum title of the year, in our opinion). It boasts the band's dominant rhythms, inventive guitar and stabbing vocals, and has an overall vibe of well-marshalled chaos. We love it!

The album will be released in two weeks by Madrid label Meritorio Records.


Bandcamp for album pre-orders