Tuesday, July 30, 2013

REISSUES: George Thorogood and the Delaware Destroyers - George Thorogood And The Destroyers and Move It On Over

When George Thorogood and the Delaware Destroyers burst onto the national scene in 1977, roots rock music was all but absent from contemporary radio. But it seems as though each generation calls for a return to roots - and Thorogood's band was it for the "punk and disco era" of the late 70's. Sometimes a bar band is so good, so focused and so exciting that they are able to take their act to a national stage, and within four years, Thorogood's band was opening for the Rolling Stones - all this by interspersing originals with early rock tracks by Chuck Berry, Elmore James, Bo Diddley, Hank Williams and Jimmy Reed.

Whether it was a gimmick or a demonstration of stamina (probably both), George and the band embarked on their “50 States in 50 Dates” tour, traveling in a Checker Cab (flying only to Alaska and Hawaii).

From Rounder's announcement:

The Destroyers went on to continued and greater success after leaving Rounder, when the label entered a joint venture with EMI for George’s fourth album, Bad to the Bone, but their first two albums are the essence of everything that makes the band great. Recorded live in the studio, George Thorogood & the Destroyers and Move It On Over capture perfectly the energy of their live shows. There’s not a wasted note, and if George never aimed for the pyrotechnics of later blues rockers such as Stevie Ray Vaughan, the directness of his approach cuts straight to the heart of each song.

On July 30, 2013, Rounder Records will re-release Thorogood’s first two albums, 1977’s George Thorogood:

1. You Got To Lose (3:15)
2. Madison Blues (4:24)
3. One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer (8:20)
4. Kind Hearted Woman (3:48)
5. Can’t Stop Lovin’ (3:04)
6. Ride On Josephine (4:17)
7. Homesick Boy (3:02)
8. John Hardy (3:18)
9. I’ll Change My Style (3:57)
10. Delaware Slide (7:45)

and 1978’s Move It On Over.

1. Move It On Over (4:16)
2. Who Do You Love (4:15)
3. The Sky Is Crying (5:09)
4. Cocaine Blues (2:46)
5. It Wasn’t Me (3:54)
6. That Same Thing (3:05)
7. So Much Trouble (3:15)
8. I’m Just Your Good Thing (3:29)
9. Baby Please Set A Date (4:42)
10. New Hawaiian Boogie (4:34)

Thirty-five years later, these performances still ring true. Mastered from new digital transfers of the original analog tapes, these albums have never sounded better. If you were around when these first came out, the joy of hearing them in good digital format will make you happy. If you weren't and you like roots rock, well, you're in for a treat...

George Thorogood website

1 comment:

Edoc said...

Learning the slide guitar to Madison Blues has been on my list of things to do since forever.