Monday, June 24, 2013

Poor Things - Hurricane Poor Things EP

The name of this Scottish trio may be Poor Things, but I wouldn't  bother to feel sorry for them.  As revealed on their new EP, Hurricane Poor Things, these guys seem to have a lot going for them.  Specifically, these guys can pump out a slightly grungy version of power pop (or, if you prefer, a bubblegum version of garage rock) that sounds fresh while it hints at influences such at Teenage Fanclub, Smashing Pumpkins and Pavement.  Try them out on opening track "Beachcomber" and closing track "Ice Cream" (which is a free download, I believe).  And I assure you that the three tracks that span the gap are just as worthy; in fact, I just added "Morgan" and "Summer Clutch" to a playlist I was making.  You can stream and buy a digital download of the EP at the Bandcamp link below.  This is a highly recommended little summer nugget.

Poor Things are Craig Angus (Guitar, Vocals), Richard Stratton (Bass, Guitar, Vocals) and Gavin Redford (Drums).  Hurricane Poor Things was released on June 10 on Vinyl Richie Records.


No comments: