Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Preview: "Bitter Tears Revisited" (various artists)

Cover of original 1964 Johnny Cash album

We are waiting anxiously for the August 19 release of Look Again to the Wind: Johnny Cash's Bitter Tears Revisited, a re-creation of Johnny Cash's classic 1964 album Bitter Tears: Ballads of the American Indian, Mr. Cash' compelling and unflinching look at the history of Native Americans in the United States. 

While we count the days, Sony posted an audio of the opening track from the record, "As Long As The Grass Shall Grow" by Gillian Welch and David Rawlings. Link here.  

If it's all this good, we're in for quite a treat, and given that the project was overseen and produced by Joe Henry, we have every reason to believe it will be.

Here's the track and artist listing:

1. As Long as the Grass Shall Grow Gillian Welch;David Rawlings
2. Apache Tears Emmylou Harris; The Milk Carton Kids
3. Custer Steve Earle; The Milk Carton Kids
4. The Talking Leaves Nancy Blake; Emmylou Harris; Gillian Welch; The Milk Carton Kids
5. The Ballad of Ira Hayes Kris Kristofferson; Gillian Welch; David Rawlings
6. Drums     Norman Blake; Gillian Welch; David Rawlings; Nancy Blake; Emmylou Harris
7. Apache Tears (Reprise) Gillian Welch; David Rawlings
8. White Girl The Milk Carton Kids
9. The Vanishing Race Rhiannon Giddens; Gillian Welch; David Rawlings
10. As Long as the Grass Shall Grow (Reprise) Gillian Welch; David Rawlings; Nancy Blake
11. Look Again to the Wind Bill Miller

Pre-order here at Amazon or iTunes

No comments: