Friday, September 21, 2012

The Velvet Underground & Nico by Castle Face and Friends

Among music fans there probably is a variety of opinion about tribute albums.  But if you are a fan of the music that When You Motor Away writes about, one upcoming tribute album to consider is The Velvet Underground & Nico by Castle Face and Friends.  To commemorate the 45th anniversary of The Velvet Underground and Nico, the labels Castle Face and Universal have teamed up to release a multi-artist, vinyl-only cover of VU's '60s classic.  It will be available on November 6.  For the few of you that may need a remedial course, Castle Face is the Bay Area label founded by John Dwyer of Thee Oh Sees, and is the home to a number of other bands, including Rocksteady74 favorite The Mallard.  Accordingly, the line-up for the album boasts a host of artists with Dwyer's seal of approval.  For your discerning inspection, the tracklist and players are as follows:

01 Kelley Stoltz: "Sunday Morning"
02 Warm Soda: "I’m Waiting For The Man"
03 Ty Segall: "Femme Fatale"
04 Blasted Canyons feat. Jeremy Cox (of Royal Baths): "Venus In Furs"
05 White Fence: "Run Run Run"
06 The Fresh & Onlys: "All Tomorrow’s Parties"
07 Burnt Ones: "Heroin"
08 The Mallard: "There She Goes Again"
09 Here Comes The Here Comes: "I’ll Be Your Mirror"
10 K. Dylan + The Black Angel’s Death Songsmen: "The Black Angel’s Death Song"
11 Thee Oh Sees: "European Son"

If you are interested in this album, you should note that it is available only through Castle Face Records (pre-orders are accepted) and from the performing bands at their gigs.  No distribution through record stores is planned.  Apparently single tracks from the album will be on various sites in the latter half of October, but I don't know whether they will be available for download.

Castle Face Records' page for the album

No comments: