Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Get to Know: Spooky Campers

Spooky Campers are Samuel T. Hill (guitar/bass/vocals), James Gaudet (guitar/bass/vocals), and Daniel Ethier (drums), and they are from Halifax. The band issued two releases in 2011 via Sunken Sounds (see Tumblr link below). The first, Shitty Campground, was recorded "one day in May" 2011 and released on May 13:

The sound is a lo-fi, gritty mix of indie rock styles including post-punk and surf. And while it all has a loose, one-take feel about it, the music seems all the better for it. I read that the band is on hiatus while one of its members attends school in Europe. I hope that doesn't mean the end of Spooky Campers.

Spooky Campers' second 2011 release is TAPE # 2, which is dated June 30, 2011:

Both releases are available for free download at Bandcamp.

Sunken Sounds on Tumblr

No comments: