Monday, January 15, 2018

Shame - Songs of Praise

There are bands that try to mark their spot on the pop music landscape with arty pretense and deep thoughts.  And then there are bands such as Shame.  The five-piece is comprised of long-time friends who decided to become a rock band rather than accountants, shopkeepers or Tory politicians.  And based on the evidence of their new devotional set of music, Songs of Praise, we think they made the right choice.  The landscape this lot has chosen is the wilds of young London, where one finds gritty reality, self-depreciating assessments and real-life tales of life for the lucky and the not-so-fortunate.  And the musical score is a muscular, angular, and buzzing post-punk that sounds about as vital as anything else you can find on the scene these days.  Shame understands that the best rock is a physical experience, and they provide the energy and performance to ensure the listeners get their money's worth.  And yeah, it is a bit raw in words and sound, but the only way to deliver this kind of music is raw and breathless.

Our favorites songs are "One Rizla", "The Lick", "Tasteless", "Gold Hole", and "Friction", but the whole album is excellent, and deserves your ears.

Shame are Charlie Steen (vocals), Sean Coyle-Smith (guitar), Eddie Green (guitar), Josh Finerty (bass), and Charlie Forbes (drums).  Songs of Praise is out now via Dead Oceans.  See the links below.

Bandcamp for Songs of Praise
Links to various sources for Songs of Praise

No comments: