Sunday, April 12, 2020

The Yellow Melodies - Sunshine Pop EP1

We need optimism and sunshine more than ever these days, and we are determined to find it. Today's dose is delivered by The Yellow Melodies. Headed by the talented Rafa Skam, the band routinely crafts memorable indie pop tunes that tickle our ears and warm our hearts. This month brought their new record, Sunshine Pop EP1. Consisting of five tunes spanning midtempo burners and upbeat pop, it is a great way to underscore that spring has arrived and most of us may make it out of the global health crisis. The lyrics for the opener and closer are in Spanish, and the other three are in English. Although we will observe that the first song, a tribute to C86 indie pop bands, namechecks so many familiar bands that you don't need to understand Spanish to follow the song. And the closer is such a terrific song that we chose it as one of our representative tracks below.

The Yellow Melodies are Rafa Skam (vocals/guitars/arrangements/lyrics), Antonio Clares (bass/backing vocals), Carlos Abrisqueta (keys/guitars), Jose Angel (drums/percussion). Additional contributors were Norma Hamilton and Pepe Moreno.

Bandcamp for EP

No comments: