Thursday, July 23, 2020

Introduction - Introduction

Introduction is the name of the band, the name of the record, and the name of the first track. Introduction are Harriet Fraser-Barbour, Elena Nees, and Lauren Abineri, whose individual credits include Wireheads, Rex Wonderful & The Silk Sheets, and Waterbear. Introduction is the band's six track debut EP. And "Introduction" is a rhythmic, minimalist post-punk wonder. In fact, the minimalist approach with a prominent bassline and a thunderous drum characterize the entire album, with variations to encompass dream pop (the showcase "Red Light"), synth pop ("Rollercoaster") and droning electropop. But while there is a similar approach to all six songs, the record never seems stale or repetitive. It is an enthralling, intriguing and impressive debut that leaves us craving for more.

Introduction is out now in digital and cassette formats via Tenth Court Records.

Bandcamp for Introduction
Tenth Court's Bandcamp page

No comments: