Thursday, April 12, 2018

The Amazing - In Transit

Swedish project The Amazing may set a high bar for assessing their music in choosing their name, but one can't deny the quality of the results.  The latest edition is the recently released In Transit, a glorious 11-track statement constructed of the tension of light and fog, glimmer and distortion.  Atmospheric and richly textured, it manages to soar while remaining slightly reticent and consciously shrouded in haze.  For us, the overall impression after listening to In Transit is like waking up from a pleasant dream, remembering some parts with clarity while other parts remain just slightly beyond our reach.  When we wake up from such a dream, we usually wish we could fall asleep again and resume the dream, but of course that rarely happens.  Happily, after we finish this new gem from The Amazing, we simply can press "replay".

The Amazing are frontman Christoffer Gunrup (guitar/vocals), Reine Fiske (guitar), Moussa Fadera (drums), Alexis Benson (bass), and Frederik Swahn (keys/guitar).  In Transit is out now in vinyl, CD and digital formats.  See the Bandcamp link below for details.


No comments: