Thursday, June 5, 2014

REVIEW: The Leaf Library - The Greater Good

A bit over a month ago we covered a great two-track single from New Zealand's Trick Mammoth released by London's unique singles project WIAIWYA 7777777 Club (post here).  The next edition in the project is "The Greater Good" b/w "Goodbye Four Walls" from The Leaf Library.  The London-based band plays uncluttered dream pop that hits the right balance between drone elements and a bubbling melody.  On this record the title track boasts an engaging lyrical quality, while the B-side is a more rhythmic exercise with a cinematic scope.  This WIAIWYA 7777777 Club continues to impress me, and I'm happy that people are continuing to find vital ways to package good music.

The Leaf Library are Ben Smith (guitar), Gareth Jones (bass), Kate Gibson (vocals/keys), Lewis Young (drums), and Matt Ashton (guitar).

Facebook for The Leaf Library
Bandcamp for record
WIAIWYA 7777777 Club

No comments: