Monday, July 30, 2018

"You Can Hide Your Love Forever" by The Fortuna POP! All-Stars

Fortuna POP! is dead -- or maybe not quite.  Yes, the label decided to call it a day after several decades of issuing fantastic music.  But subscribers to its singles clubs were stilled owed a few releases, and the honorable folks at Fortuna POP! have been providing them.  And now it is time for the final single, and it is quite special.  Beginning with "You Can Hide Your Love Forever", the 2001 single for the label by Comet Gain, the final release took form as a cover with contributions from numerous artists that appeared on Fortuna POP! over the years.  Among the credited players, vocalists and other contributors are Emma Kupa (Mammoth Penguins), Amos Memon (Fanfarlo), Laura Kovic (Tigercats), Paul Rains (Allo Darlin'), Ben Phillipson (Comet Gain), Sam Ayres (Flowers), Mikey Collins (Allo Darlin'), Gary Olson (Ladybug Transistor), Kyle Forrester (Ladybug Transistor), Amelia Fletcher (Tender Trap), Daniel Ellis (Martha), Lan McArdle (Joanna Gruesome), Owen Williams (Joanna Gruesome), Adam Todd (The Spook School), Bill Botting, (Allo Darlin'), Elizabeth Morris (Allo Darlin'), Jeff Greene (The Butterflies of Love), Dan Greene (The Butterflies of Love), Lisa Horton (Bearsuit), Iain Ross (Bearsuit), Katherine Whitaker (Evans The Death), Silvi Wersing (Chorusgirl), Helen King (Shrag), Rachel Kenedy (Flowers,), Pete Dale (Milky Wimpshake), Darren Hayman, Peter Astor, Simon Love, and Giles Barrett.

There also is a B-side, and the entire release is available as a very limited vinyl run.  If you are interested get busy.  But first take the time to listen to the glorious final notes from Fortuna POP!


No comments: