Friday, February 7, 2020

"Set Me Free" by Steve Buscemi's Dreamy Eyes

Our long wait for a debut album from Swedish band Steve Buscemi's Dreamy Eyes will be over on Valentine's Day with the release of Sweetie. But before that happens we have "Set Me Free", the final single. A briskly pace, '80s-tinged anthem, it is keeping us moving on a dreary Friday.

Steve Buscemi's Dreamy Eyes are Siri Sjoberg, Tilde Hansen, Elias Mahfoud, and Edvin Arleskar. "Set Me Free" and Sweetie are released via Rama Lama Records.

Various links for "Set Me Free"
Bandcamp for Sweetie

Thursday, February 6, 2020

"Love You To Death" by Snowy Band

Since we started the day with a couple of pop heroes from Sweden, we will continue part of the theme with Liam "Snowy" Halliwell, the man behind Snowy Band (although he is joined in the venture by some ace contributors) and another pop hero. If you enter "Snowy" or "Liam Halliwell" into this blog's search engine, you will discover that he has featured in a number of projects we cherish, including the The Ocean Party and Studio Magic. Snowy Band will be releasing new LP Audio Commentary on March 27 via Osborne Again Music and Spunk Records. To let you know how special it will be, we have shared the first single, "Love You To Death", below.

Snowy Band consists of Liam Halliwell (vocals/guitar/others), Emma Russack (vocals/guitar), Nathalie Pavlovic (vocals/bass), and Dylan Young (vocals/drums).

Spotify link for song
Bandcamp for Audio Commentary

"The Absence of Birds" by The Radio Dept.

Some of the most delightful music we have heard in our lives is the creation of The Radio Dept. The Swedish duo consisting of Johan Duncanson and Martin Carlberg have refined the musical textbook for melancholy, bittersweet dreampop. Thus, any news about forthcoming music from the band is welcome, and today we bring you a triple header. First, the band has released the lovely new "The Absence of Birds" (with an accompanying remix), deftly sketching a block party with a parallel focus on the narrator focusing on an absent person. Second, on March 27 the band will reissue their sophomore album, Pet Grief. And third, and of special interest to US fans, The Radio Dept. will be touring with fellow Swedish band Hater in North America in April and May.

Just So! (label)

Wednesday, February 5, 2020

Peter Hall - There's Something Wrong With Everyone

We are not particularly familiar with UK artist Peter Hall, but the four tracks on There's Something Wrong With Everyone have made fans of us. This is intimate, carefully crafted and richly melodic indie pop that has lifted our spirits today. We suggest it may well do the same for you. There may be something wrong with everyone, but there is nothing wrong about this EP.


Tuesday, February 4, 2020

The Late Pioneers - The Late Pioneers

The Late Pioneers have been around long enough to have released multiple EPs, albums and singles, but they are a new discovery for us at WYMA. And while it may be embarrassing (for us) to be late to the party, their music is too good to not jump in and tell our readers about it. Fortunately, the Subjangle label has made our task easier by collection 20 of the band's tracks and presenting them in a self-titled compilation. The result should delight new fans as well as old fans that appreciate having the songs in a single edition.

The band boasts a large sweet spot spanning jangle pop, powerpop, '60s guitar pop, and early '70s California country rock. Sometimes we thought we were listening to Teenage Fanclub, and other times Buffalo Springfield or one of our other favorites. But at all times we were entertained. Although the members of The Late Pioneers have other musical projects, they mesh together seamlessly and offer tightly constructed and sincere music that hits our pleasure spots in just the right way. One run through this album and all the songs sounded like old friends that we have turned to for years.

The Late Pioneers are Nathan McGahern, Peter McNicholl, Craig Sumner, and Nick Worrall. The album is out now in digital and CD formats.

Bandcamp for The Late Pioneers

Monday, February 3, 2020

Pia Fraus - Empty Parks

If we wanted to illustrate dreamgaze, which obviously is the intersection of dreampop and shoegaze, we probably couldn't find a better example than Empty Parks, the new album by Estonian band Pia Fraus. This is music packed with blissed out vibes and positive energy, briskly paced superbly performed by musicians that have played together for over two decades. Soft harmonies, guitars and synths mesh together to create soundscapes that both sooth and inspire. Grab this album and play it loud while driving through the country. You won't be disappointed.

Pia Fraus are Eve Komp (vocals/synths), Kart Ojavee (synths), Rein Fuks (guitar/vocals/synths/tambourine/shaker/songwriting), Reijo Tagapere (bass), Joosep Volk (drums/percussion), and Kristel Eplik (backing vocals). Empty Parks is out now in digital, vinyl and CD formats via the band's own label, Seksound, and Vinyl Junkie in Japan.

Bandcamp for Empty Parks